April 8, 2019

CNES Science Programmes Committee Strict parity for 2019-2024

Every five years, CNES renews its Science Programmes Committee (CPS). The CPS advises the CNES Board of Directors on the selection and oversight of the agency’s scientific programmes.

CNES also holds its Space Science Survey seminar every five years, chaired by the CPS. The next seminar will be held from 8 to 10 October in Le Havre, where participants will be reviewing the current state of thinking in the field.

The new CPS appointed for 2019-2024 is made up of 12 eminent scientists, with strict parity between men and women members, chosen to achieve the best balance between Universe, Earth, life and materials science. It will coordinate work by two scientific assessment committees: CERES for space research and exploration, and TOSCA for Earth, oceanography, land surfaces and the atmosphere.

The CPS members for 2019-2024 are:
•    Gilles Bergametti, LISA inter-university laboratory for the study of atmospheric systems, Paris
•    Audrey Bergouignan, Hubert Curien Institute (IPHC), Strasbourg
•    Pierre Brasseur, IGE environmental geosciences institute, Grenoble
•    Christophe Delacourt, LGO ocean geosciences laboratory, Plouzané
•    Véronique Ducrocq, CNRM national meteorological research centre, Toulouse
•    François Forget, LMD dynamic meteorology research laboratory, Palaiseau
•    Marielle Gosset, GET environmental geosciences laboratory, Toulouse
•    Jean-Marie Hameury, Strasbourg Astronomical Observatory (ObAS)
•    Laurence Hubert-Moy, LETG coastal, environmental, remote sensing and geomatics research laboratory, Rennes
•    Annick Loiseau, LEM microstructures research laboratory, Gif-sur-Yvette
•    Aurélie Marchaudon, IRAP astrophysics and planetology research institute, Toulouse
•    Christophe Salomon, Kastler-Brossel research laboratory, Paris

Other appointments are:
•    Gilles Bergametti, CPS Chair
•    Athena Coustenis, LESIA space and astrophysics instrumentation research laboratory, Paris, CERES Chair
•    Cyril Crevoisier, LMD dynamic meteorology research laboratory, TOSCA Chair

Pascale Bresson    Press Officer    Tel: +33 (0)1 44 76 75 39    pascale.bresson@cnes.fr
Raphaël Sart    Press Officer    Tel: +33 (0)1 44 76 74 51    raphael.sart@cnes.fr
Sébastien Martignac    Press Officer    Tel. +33 (0)1 44 76 78 35    sebastien.martignac@cnes.fr